Are Pizza Hut Breadsticks Vegan? — Pizza Hut’s Vegan Options

When you go vegan, you have to stick to the avoidance of animal products. Vegans are strictly against unnecessary animal cruelty and try to mention foods of a non-animal origin. As a result, being a vegan is an all-or-nothing kind of deal. But you can still dine at your favorite restaurants. If you love pizza, the question “are pizza hut breadsticks vegan?” may cross your mind.

Regarding Pizza Hut’s menu, things get complicated, as many US-based Pizza Hut locations don’t have an excellent vegan menu. That’s why we plan to answer your query regarding the breadsticks. Keep reading, as we’ll also mention other vegan menu items that you can choose from at this food chain. So, let’s get right to it.

Are Pizza Hut Breadsticks Vegan?

Breadsticks are a popular commodity at many pizza parlors – some even consider them the ultimate comfort food. There is nothing like a platter of breadsticks with your favorite dipping sauce to complement a pepperoni pizza.

However, herbivorous pizza enthusiasts may wonder if these breadsticks fall into the vegan food category. The answer to that question is a bit complicated, so we need to look at the food sourcing of these breadsticks and isolate the animal products.


The breadstick dough is entirely vegan, and you don’t need to worry about consuming any animal products through it. This also applies to the pizza crust of any vegan pizzas you order.

Oil Used For Cooking

Pizza Hut uses soybean oil for cooking purposes, which is wholly vegan.

Buttery Blend

Surprisingly, the buttery blend doesn’t contain melted butter. It has soybean oil and vegan seasonings, making it safe to consume.


This is where things get a bit tricky. Pizza Hut’s breadsticks use parmesan cheese as a topping. Most US-based Pizza Hut locations don’t have any vegan parmesan seasoning, so the only option you’re left with is to exclude it from your breadsticks.

It’s as simple as asking the waiter not to add any seasoning to the breadsticks you order, and they won’t ask you any questions. Remember to confirm while receiving your order if they might have forgotten. 

Dipping Sauce

Unlike the vegan pizza sauce that Pizza Hut uses, not all of its dipping sauces are vegan-friendly. The only vegan option is the buffalo dipping sauce because Pizza Hut’s BBQ sauce uses honey, rendering it non-vegan.

Consequently, if you want to order vegan breadstick, ensure you exclude the parmesan cheese seasoning unless they have vegan cheese options. The only vegan option in the dipping sauces is the buffalo dipping sauce, so just pick that. Or, if you’re not entirely convinced, you can cook some homemade breadsticks.

Everything Vegan on the Pizza Hut Menu

If you’re in the mood to explore, you’ll find a few more things that count as vegan meals at Pizza Hut. Let’s discuss all of these individually.


Whether you’re having a pizza night or just want a takeout from one of the largest pizza chains, nothing can match the sweetness of a vegan pizza. Interestingly, you can curate your pizza recipe to suit your diet. Below are some vegan pizza ingredients:


You can go with any of the types of dough at Pizza Hut, as all have vegan status. These are the doughs on offer:

  • Pan Crust
  • Hand-Tossed Style
  • Thin ‘N Crispy Dough
  • P’Zone Dough

Ensure you don’t add any crust flavor to your dough, even the garlic buttery blend, as they contain dairy products. More specifically, choose a gluten-free crust if you have allergies.


Unless the Pizza Hut you’re at offers vegan cheese options, do not add cheese to your pizza. It would be best to ask for a pizza without cheese when ordering. 

Pizza Sauces

Pizza Hut offers two types of vegan pizza sauces, which you can consider safe vegan food. These are the ones on offer:

  • Marinara Sauce
  • Buffalo Pizza Sauce


Any toppings that don’t contain meat are vegan-friendly and can be added to your pizza. These are the veggies on offer:

  • Sliced Banana Peppers
  • Sliced Jalapeno Peppers
  • Diced Roma Tomatoes
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Mushrooms
  • Red Onions
  • Mediterranean Black Olives
  • Sweet Pineapple


Unfortunately, none of the pasta offered by Pizza Hut is vegan-friendly. The fact that it contains cheese, even if we ignore the meat in it, excludes it from vegan meals.


Yes, Pizza Hut sells fries, which are almost always vegan unless you get some topping with dairy products. 

In other words, steer clear of the loaded fries, and you’re good to go.


The only vegan dessert on the menu is the Cinnamon sticks. These sweet treats are entirely plant-based and safe to eat by every vegan out there. However, the icing that comes with these is dairy-based, so ensure you order these without the icing. 

Alternatively, you can prepare your icing at home, but in this case, use plant milk, a non-dairy alternative with powdered sugar and vanilla flavor. Ensure the plant milk is adequate to give a desirable consistency.


Whether you’re a vegan by the book or prefer vegetarian options, you should know about Pizza Hut breadsticks and their vegan options. The breadsticks are perfectly fine for vegetarians as they don’t contain any meat. 

However, the parmesan cheese topping on these breadsticks should be avoided at all costs. This also goes for the barbeque dipping sauce, as it contains honey.

Apart from answering your question, “are pizza hut breadsticks vegan?” we added all the other vegan foods you can enjoy at Pizza Hut without being guilty of animal cruelty. 

Why? So you can make an informed choice when ordering at Pizza Hut. Also, the tips we’ve shared will help you while ordering/making pizza anywhere in the world!